Renewables

A combination of strengths of physical and statistical forecasting methods

EW2 - The new solar power forecast

  • Direct marketing
  • TSO / DSO
  • Utilities
  • Individual systems for optimising self-consumption

Wind power forecast with feed-in management

  • Direct marketing portfolios
  • Intraday trading
  • automated trading strategies

Advantages

The combination of both methods achieves a strikingly improved forecasting quality and represents a serious alternative to the market leader  .

Physical methodology

The calculation of the generation potential for every day and every hour of the year is a unique feature for solar power forecasts and is necessary because, for example, the highest position of the sun at the beginning of summer does not correspond to the highest extraterrestrial radiation and this in turn does not correspond to the highest irradiation on the ground in the annual cycle. Only after this maximum power has been determined - assuming that the whole of Germany is under a cloudless sky at normal temperature - is the data from the weather models taken into account and put into relation to it.

Statistical model mix with learning effect

We use a mix of the best weather models for wind and solar power forecasts and weight each forecast horizon according to the respective model specialities. Components include both, the best high-resolution individual model for weather forecasting and the leading models with global calculation. For longer forecast horizons, ensemble calculations find their way into our forecasts, whose bandwidth also allows statements about the confidence.

Maximum flexibility

Our database includes every single wind and PV plant in Germany. This enables us to deliver individual forecasts for direct marketing, for distribution grids or even nationwide forecasts of a comparably high quality.

Probabilistic labelling of uncertainty ranges

Weather forecasts over a longer period of time are naturally associated with uncertainties, which also applies in particular to the generation forecasts of solar and wind plants. We meet this challenge by explicitly naming the uncertainty range that enables sufficiently accurate forecasts, but at the same time indicates their probability of occurrence.

Independence from observational data

The physically based calculation methodology combined with the complete consideration of the individual plants enables us to be independent of feed-in values and other observation data.

System security

All data and programmes are backed up and mirrored several times so that the highest reliability in availability and punctuality is guaranteed. A sophisticated technical infrastructure also supports the provision of data in any desired format and thus without any integration effort on the part of the customer.

You want to know more?

Contact us

info@energyweather.com

Renewables

Eine Kombination aus Stärken physikalischer und statistischer Prognosemethoden

EW2 – Die neue Solarleistungsprognose

  • Direktvermarktung von Strom
  • Übertragungsnetzbetreiber / Verteilnetzbetreiber
  • Energieversorgungsunternehmen / Stadtwerke
  • Einzelanlagen zur Optimierung des Eigenverbrauchs

Windleistungsprognose mit Einspeisemanagement

  • Direktvermarktungsportfolios
  • Intradayhandel
  • automatisierte Handelsstrategien

Vorteile

Die Kombination beider Verfahren erzielt eine markant verbesserte Prognosegüte und stellt eine ernstzunehmende Alternative zum Marktführer  dar.

Physikalische Methodik

Die Berechnung des Erzeugungspotentials für jeden Tag und jede Stunde im Jahr stellt für Solarleistungsprognosen ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal dar und ist notwendig, da z.B. der höchste Sonnenstand zum Sommeranfang nicht mit der höchsten extraterrestrischen Strahlung und diese wiederum nicht mit der höchsten Einstrahlung am Erdboden im Jahresgang übereinstimmt. Erst nach Ermittlung dieser Maximalleistung – unter der Annahme ganz Deutschland liege bei Normaltemperatur unter wolkenlosem Himmel – werden die Daten der Wettermodelle berücksichtigt und dazu in Relation gesetzt.

Statistischer Modellmix mit Lerneffekt

Wir verwenden einen Mix aus den jeweils besten Wettermodellen für Wind- und Solarleistungsprognosen und gewichten dabei jeden Vorhersagehorizont in Abhängigkeit zu dem jeweiligen Modellspezialitäten. Bestandteile sind unter anderem sowohl das beste hochauflösende Einzelmodell zur Wetterprognose, als auch die führenden Modelle mit weltweiter Berechnung. Bei längeren Vorhersagehorizonten finden Ensembleberechnungen ihren Weg in unsere Prognosen, deren Bandbreite zugleich Aussagen über die Konfidenz zulässt.

Höchste Flexibilität

Unsere Datenbank umfasst jede einzelne Wind- und PV Anlage in Deutschland. Das versetzt uns in die Lage, Einzelprognosen zur Direktvermarktung, für Verteilnetze oder auch deutschlandweite Prognosen in vergleichbar hoher Qualität zu liefern.

Probabilistische Kennzeichnung von Unsicherheitsbereichen

Wettervorhersagen über einen längeren Zeitraum sind naturgemäß mit Unsicherheiten verbunden, was insbesondere auch für die Erzeugungsprognosen von Solar- und Windanlagen gilt. Wir begegnen dieser Herausforderung mit der expliziten Benennung des Unsicherheitsbereiches, der hinreichend genaue Vorhersagen ermöglicht, zugleich jedoch auf deren Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit hinweist.

Unabhängigkeit von Beobachtungsdaten

Die physikalisch basierte Berechnungsmethodik verbunden mit der vollständigen Berücksichtigung der einzelnen Anlagen ermöglicht uns die Unabhängigkeit von Einspeisewerten und anderen Beobachtungsdaten.

Systemsicherheit

Alle Daten und Programme sind mehrfach gesichert und gespiegelt, so dass höchste Zuverlässigkeit in Verfügbarkeit und Pünktlichkeit gewährleistet ist. Eine ausgeklügelte technische Infrastruktur unterstützt die Bereitstellung der Daten zudem in jeglichem gewünschten Format und somit ohne kundenseitigen Integrationsaufwand.

Sie wollen mehr erfahren?

Kontaktieren Sie uns

info@energyweather.com